Compare

The same questions, asked of every PDF editor.

Where does your file go, what does the free tier really allow, and does retyping a line keep the page's font? Every fact read from the vendor's own pages, with sources. Where a competitor is better, its page says so.

11of 12
upload your file to their servers
0of 12
keep the page's own font (5 partly)
4of 12
edit existing text on their free tier
3of 12
need no account at all

Checked November 202612 tools, the same seven questions, sources on every page.

Twelve PDF editors and Edit My PDF: where files are processed, whether an account is needed, whether existing text can be edited and keeps its font, free limits and the starting price
ToolFiles go toAccountEdits existing textKeeps the fontFree tier limitsPaid from
Edit My PDFYour browserNoYesYesBrowser memoryNoneFreeeverything, for everyone
iLovePDFTheir serversFor some tasksYesNot stated100 MB for Edit PDF; 15 MB for Office conversion and OCRNot published ("limited document processing")$44.99/yearapprox.regionalPremium on the US App Store; the web price varies by region
SmallpdfTheir serversFor some tasksYesFree tier: NoNo"Limited"; no number published2 tasks per day$9/monthapprox.regionalthird-partyPro billed yearly, per third-party listings
SejdaTheir serversNoYesPartly50 MB or 200 pages3 tasks per hour$5/weeka seven-day web pass; $7.50 a month after
Adobe Acrobat onlineTheir serversFor some tasksYesFree tier: NoPartly100 MB (200 MB for PDF to Word or PowerPoint; 2 GB for Compress)One use of each premium tool per 30 days with a free account$14.99/monthapprox.regionalAcrobat Standard on an annual plan; the UK store shows £14.99
Foxit PDF EditorTheir serversFor some tasksYesFree tier: NoPartly10 MB in the trial editor; 150 MB in the compress toolNot published$10.99/monthPDF Editor, per user on annual billing
XodoMostly localNot statedYesNot statedNot published1 action per day$39.99/yearXodo Web
PDF24 ToolsTheir serversNoNoNoNone publishedNoneFreeno paid plan
pdfFillerTheir serversFor some tasksYesFree tier: limitedPartly100 MB and 1,500 pagesTrial only$8/monthBasic, per user billed annually
Canva PDF editorTheir serversYesYesNo300 MB, 500 pages, 1,400 elementsNone$12/monthapprox.regionalthird-partyPro billed yearly, per third-party listings
PDFescapeTheir serversNoPartlyFree tier: NoNot stated10 MB and 100 pages"Usage rates" enforced; numbers not published$2.99/monthPremium billed yearly
DocHubTheir serversYesYesFree tier: limitedNo31 MB3 core-feature uses per month$8/monthBasic billed yearly
Soda PDFTheir serversNot statedYesFree tier: limitedPartly3 MB free (100 MB upload limit on paid plans)2 files per day$7–15/monthapprox.third-partyat checkoutPro; the vendor shows the price only at checkout

"Keeps original font" means the vendor's editor sets retyped text in the PDF's embedded font rather than a substitute. Prices are the lowest paid plan in the currency the vendor showed and change often; a regional, approximate or third-party figure is marked as such, and each page links to the source it was read from.

One page per tool

Each page scores Edit My PDF and the tool on the same facts, says where each is the better choice, and lists its sources.

ILOVEPDF S.L.$44.99/yearapprox.regional

Edit My PDF vs iLovePDF

A broad toolbox of more than thirty web PDF tools, with desktop and mobile apps, an API and e-signatures.

Read the comparison
Smallpdf AG$9/monthapprox.regionalthird-party

Edit My PDF vs Smallpdf

A Swiss suite of web PDF tools with a Windows app, mobile scanner, AI tools and the Sign.com e-signature platform.

Read the comparison
Sejda BV$5/week

Edit My PDF vs Sejda

A web PDF editor and toolset with an unusually generous free tier, and a desktop app that processes files locally.

Read the comparison
Adobe Inc.$14.99/monthapprox.regional

Edit My PDF vs Adobe Acrobat online

Adobe's free web tools and the Acrobat Standard, Pro and Studio subscriptions, with the web editor saving to Adobe cloud storage.

Read the comparison
Foxit Software Inc.$10.99/month

Edit My PDF vs Foxit PDF Editor

A long-standing desktop editor with a cloud edition, free online converters, e-signatures and a perpetual licence option.

Read the comparison
Apryse Software Inc.$39.99/year

Edit My PDF vs Xodo

Apryse's consumer suite of forty-plus web tools, a desktop app (PDF Studio), mobile apps and cloud drive.

Read the comparison
geek software GmbHFree

Edit My PDF vs PDF24 Tools

Around 150 free, ad-supported online PDF tools from a German company, plus a free offline Windows app.

Read the comparison
airSlate$8/month

Edit My PDF vs pdfFiller

A cloud document platform for filling, editing and signing PDFs, with forms, templates and workflow features.

Read the comparison
Canva Pty Ltd$12/monthapprox.regionalthird-party

Edit My PDF vs Canva PDF editor

Canva imports a PDF as a design, breaks it into editable elements and exports a new PDF, inside its full design suite.

Read the comparison
Avanquest Software$2.99/month

Edit My PDF vs PDFescape

A long-running free online form filler and annotator, now owned by Avanquest, with a paid Windows desktop editor.

Read the comparison
DocHub$8/month

Edit My PDF vs DocHub

A cloud PDF editor and e-signature tool built around Google Workspace, with native text editing added in 2026.

Read the comparison
Avanquest Software$7–15/monthapprox.third-partyat checkout

Edit My PDF vs Soda PDF

An Avanquest suite with a Windows desktop app and an online edition covering editing, OCR, conversion, signing and AI tools.

Read the comparison