Comparison

Edit My PDF vs Soda PDF

An Avanquest suite with a Windows desktop app and an online edition covering editing, OCR, conversion, signing and AI tools.

Facts checked 2 November 2026

At a glanceSoda PDFEdit My PDF
Where your file is processedUploaded to their serversOnline tools upload the file over HTTPS and process it on Soda's servers.In your browserEverything runs in your tab with pdf.js and pdf-lib. Nothing is uploaded.
File retentionFiles are deleted from the servers within 24 hours; e-signature documents are kept longer.Nothing is sent, so nothing is retained. Documents stay in your browser's IndexedDB until you remove them.
AccountNot statedNot stated for the free tools; saving to My Files needs a plan.Not required
Free tierMost tools free within two files a day or 3 MB. You can edit text, but downloading, printing or saving the result requires payment.File size cap: 3 MB free (100 MB upload limit on paid plans). Limit: 2 files per day. Watermark: not stated.Everything is free. No task counter, no watermark, no file size cap beyond browser memory.
Paid plans$7–15/monthapprox.third-partyat checkoutPro: Shown only at checkout; third-party listings range from about $7 to $15 a monthTeam: Per licence, 3 to 19 users, 10% off per licenceBusiness: Shown only at checkoutAdds OCR Edit, 10 GB storage and deployment tools.None. Everything is free.
Edits the text already on the pageYesOn the free tier: PartlyYes
Keeps the page's original fontPartlyDetects the document's fonts; where a font is unavailable "the closest match will be suggested". Free users cannot save the edit.YesOpens the clicked text in the PDF's embedded font, at its size, colour, letter and word spacing; exports it as real text in a subset of that font.
Annotate and drawYesYes
SignYesYes
Fill formsYesNo
OCRYesNo
Convert to and from other formatsYesNo
Merge and splitYesNo
CompressYesNo
Desktop appsYesNo
Mobile appsPartlyNo
APIYesNo

    Where Soda PDF is better

  • One of the broadest toolsets: OCR, two-way conversion, translation, e-signatures with timestamps, batch processing and AI tools.
  • A Windows desktop app and enterprise deployment options.
  • Uploads up to 100 MB on paid plans and a clear 24-hour deletion rule.

    Where Edit My PDF is better

  • Free editing you can actually save; Soda's free editor lets you edit but not download.
  • No 3 MB or two-files-a-day limit, and no upload.
  • The embedded font is kept rather than a "closest match".
  • Works the same on macOS and Linux, where Soda has no desktop app.

Online V15 (April 2026) brought a new editing engine and Google Fonts. A free-access policy from August 2025 defines what the free tier may do.

Read on 2 November 2026 from Avanquest Software's own pages, with independent reviews used only to fill gaps. Prices are as the vendor showed them, in the currency and region seen. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the page says "Not stated".

  1. Soda PDF editor (processing, fonts, free limits)
  2. Soda PDF plans
  3. Soda PDF blog: free access policy
  4. Soda PDF release notes
  5. Soda PDF privacy policy

Soda PDF is a product of Avanquest Software, Montréal. The name is used only to identify the product being compared.

Other comparisons

Try Edit My PDF on a PDF All comparisons