Comparison

Edit My PDF vs Xodo

Apryse's consumer suite of forty-plus web tools, a desktop app (PDF Studio), mobile apps and cloud drive.

Facts checked 2 November 2026

At a glanceXodoEdit My PDF
Where your file is processedMostly on your device"Most tools process files on your device locally"; which ones upload is not itemised.In your browserEverything runs in your tab with pdf.js and pdf-lib. Nothing is uploaded.
File retentionFiles that require upload are deleted after one hour. AskPDF sends document content to OpenAI.Nothing is sent, so nothing is retained. Documents stay in your browser's IndexedDB until you remove them.
AccountNot statedWhether the free daily action needs an account is not stated.Not required
Free tierOne free action a day with limited access to the web tools.File size cap: Not published. Limit: 1 action per day. Watermark: not stated.Everything is free. No task counter, no watermark, no file size cap beyond browser memory.
Paid plans$39.99/yearXodo Web: $39.99 a year ($3.33 a month)3-day trial with a payment method.Xodo Document Suite: $107.93 a year ($8.99 a month) on a promotion through 31 December 2026; $14.99 a month billed yearly at the standard priceWeb, desktop and mobile.Xodo Desktop (PDF Studio): $119.88 a year ($9.99 a month); a perpetual licence is also soldNone. Everything is free.
Edits the text already on the pageYesYes
Keeps the page's original fontNot statedThe tool page says you can "add new text in the same font" and edit existing text; what happens when a font is not embedded is not documented.YesOpens the clicked text in the PDF's embedded font, at its size, colour, letter and word spacing; exports it as real text in a subset of that font.
Annotate and drawYesYes
SignYesYes
Fill formsYesNo
OCRYesNo
Convert to and from other formatsYesNo
Merge and splitYesNo
CompressYesNo
Desktop appsYesNo
Mobile appsYesNo
APINoNo

    Where Xodo is better

  • OCR and Office conversion.
  • A cloud drive, cross-device apps and a Linux desktop app with a perpetual licence.
  • E-signatures (Xodo Sign) and an AI question-and-answer tool.
  • A very low entry price for the web tools.
  • Local processing for most tools, which narrows the privacy gap.

    Where Edit My PDF is better

  • Unlimited free use, against one action a day.
  • Everything runs locally and the code says so; Xodo does not list which tools upload.
  • No account and no trial.
  • Font handling is documented: the page's embedded font, kept and re-embedded on export.

PDFTron became Apryse in 2023. An Essentials plan announced in April 2025 is no longer listed; a 40%-off Document Suite promotion runs through December 2026.

Read on 2 November 2026 from Apryse Software Inc.'s own pages, with independent reviews used only to fill gaps. Prices are as the vendor showed them, in the currency and region seen. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the page says "Not stated".

  1. Xodo pricing
  2. Xodo Edit PDF Text
  3. Xodo PDF editor
  4. Xodo blog: plans explained (June 2026)
  5. Apryse privacy notice

Xodo is a product of Apryse Software Inc.. The name is used only to identify the product being compared.

Other comparisons

Try Edit My PDF on a PDF All comparisons