# Edit My PDF vs Xodo: where files go, what is free, fonts

> Xodo compared with Edit My PDF: where files are processed, free limits, pricing, and whether editing text keeps the original font. Facts checked 2 November 2026.

Canonical: https://editmypdf.dev/compare/xodo/

Apryse's consumer suite of forty-plus web tools, a desktop app (PDF Studio), mobile apps and cloud drive.

Facts checked 2 November 2026

## In short

Xodo is the closest of these tools to Edit My PDF on privacy, since most of its tools run on your device, and it offers far more of them for a modest price. Its free tier is one action a day and its font behaviour is undocumented. For free, unlimited editing in the page's own font, Edit My PDF.

Xodo and Edit My PDF on three facts
|  | Xodo | Edit My PDF |
| --- | --- | --- |
| runs in your browser | Partly | Yes |
| edits existing text | Yes | Yes |
| keeps the page's font | Not stated | Yes |

| At a glance | Xodo | Edit My PDF |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Where your file is processed | Mostly on your device ("Most tools process files on your device locally"; which ones upload is not itemised.) | In your browser (Everything runs in your tab with pdf.js and pdf-lib. Nothing is uploaded.) |
| File retention | Files that require upload are deleted after one hour. AskPDF sends document content to OpenAI. | Nothing is sent, so nothing is retained. Documents stay in your browser's IndexedDB until you remove them. |
| Account | Not stated (Whether the free daily action needs an account is not stated.) | Not required |
| Free tier | One free action a day with limited access to the web tools. (File size cap: Not published. Limit: 1 action per day. Watermark: not stated.) | Everything is free. No task counter, no watermark, no file size cap beyond browser memory. |
| Paid plans | $39.99/year **Xodo Web**: $39.99 a year ($3.33 a month) (3-day trial with a payment method.) · **Xodo Document Suite**: $107.93 a year ($8.99 a month) on a promotion through 31 December 2026; $14.99 a month billed yearly at the standard price (Web, desktop and mobile.) · **Xodo Desktop (PDF Studio)**: $119.88 a year ($9.99 a month); a perpetual licence is also sold ·  | None. Everything is free. |
| Edits the text already on the page | Yes | Yes |
| Keeps the page's original font | Not stated (The tool page says you can "add new text in the same font" and edit existing text; what happens when a font is not embedded is not documented.) | Yes (Opens the clicked text in the PDF's embedded font, at its size, colour, letter and word spacing; exports it as real text in a subset of that font.) |
| Annotate and draw | Yes | Yes |
| Sign | Yes | Yes |
| Fill forms | Yes | No |
| OCR | Yes | No |
| Convert to and from other formats | Yes | No |
| Merge and split | Yes | No |
| Compress | Yes | No |
| Desktop apps | Yes | No |
| Mobile apps | Yes | No |
| API | No | No |

### Where Xodo is better

-   OCR and Office conversion.
-   A cloud drive, cross-device apps and a Linux desktop app with a perpetual licence.
-   E-signatures (Xodo Sign) and an AI question-and-answer tool.
-   A very low entry price for the web tools.
-   Local processing for most tools, which narrows the privacy gap.

### Where Edit My PDF is better

-   Unlimited free use, against one action a day.
-   Everything runs locally and the code says so; Xodo does not list which tools upload.
-   No account and no trial.
-   Font handling is documented: the page's embedded font, kept and re-embedded on export.

PDFTron became Apryse in 2023. An Essentials plan announced in April 2025 is no longer listed; a 40%-off Document Suite promotion runs through December 2026.

### 

Read on 2 November 2026 from Apryse Software Inc.'s own pages, with independent reviews used only to fill gaps. Prices are as the vendor showed them, in the currency and region seen. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the page says "Not stated".

1.  [Xodo pricing](https://xodo.com/pricing)
2.  [Xodo Edit PDF Text](https://xodo.com/edit-pdf-text)
3.  [Xodo PDF editor](https://www.xodo.com/pdf-editor)
4.  [Xodo blog: plans explained (June 2026)](https://xodo.com/blog/xodo-plans-explained)
5.  [Apryse privacy notice](https://apryse.com/privacy)

Xodo is a product of Apryse Software Inc.. The name is used only to identify the product being compared.

## Other comparisons

[[ILOVEPDF S.L.]$44.99/year [approx.] [regional] 

### Edit My PDF vs iLovePDF

A broad toolbox of more than thirty web PDF tools, with desktop and mobile apps, an API and e-signatures.

Read the comparison](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/ilovepdf/)[[Smallpdf AG]$9/month [approx.] [regional] [third-party] 

### Edit My PDF vs Smallpdf

A Swiss suite of web PDF tools with a Windows app, mobile scanner, AI tools and the Sign.com e-signature platform.

Read the comparison](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/smallpdf/)[[Sejda BV]$5/week 

### Edit My PDF vs Sejda

A web PDF editor and toolset with an unusually generous free tier, and a desktop app that processes files locally.

Read the comparison](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/sejda/)

[Try Edit My PDF on a PDF](https://editmypdf.dev/app/) [All comparisons](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/)

---

Markdown version of https://editmypdf.dev/compare/xodo/. Every page of Edit My PDF has one at the same address with .md appended; the index is https://editmypdf.dev/llms.txt.
