# Edit My PDF vs Soda PDF: where files go, what is free, fonts

> Soda PDF compared with Edit My PDF: where files are processed, free limits, pricing, and whether editing text keeps the original font. Facts checked 2 November 2026.

Canonical: https://editmypdf.dev/compare/soda-pdf/

An Avanquest suite with a Windows desktop app and an online edition covering editing, OCR, conversion, signing and AI tools.

Facts checked 2 November 2026

## In short

Soda PDF is a capable all-rounder if you buy it, and its prices are only revealed at checkout. Its free editor is a demonstration. Edit My PDF is a free editor that saves, in the page's own font, without an upload.

Soda PDF and Edit My PDF on three facts
|  | Soda PDF | Edit My PDF |
| --- | --- | --- |
| runs in your browser | No | Yes |
| edits existing text | Yes | Yes |
| keeps the page's font | Partly | Yes |

| At a glance | Soda PDF | Edit My PDF |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Where your file is processed | Uploaded to their servers (Online tools upload the file over HTTPS and process it on Soda's servers.) | In your browser (Everything runs in your tab with pdf.js and pdf-lib. Nothing is uploaded.) |
| File retention | Files are deleted from the servers within 24 hours; e-signature documents are kept longer. | Nothing is sent, so nothing is retained. Documents stay in your browser's IndexedDB until you remove them. |
| Account | Not stated (Not stated for the free tools; saving to My Files needs a plan.) | Not required |
| Free tier | Most tools free within two files a day or 3 MB. You can edit text, but downloading, printing or saving the result requires payment. (File size cap: 3 MB free (100 MB upload limit on paid plans). Limit: 2 files per day. Watermark: not stated.) | Everything is free. No task counter, no watermark, no file size cap beyond browser memory. |
| Paid plans | $7–15/month [approx.] [third-party] [at checkout] **Pro**: Shown only at checkout; third-party listings range from about $7 to $15 a month · **Team**: Per licence, 3 to 19 users, 10% off per licence · **Business**: Shown only at checkout (Adds OCR Edit, 10 GB storage and deployment tools.) ·  | None. Everything is free. |
| Edits the text already on the page | Yes (On the free tier: Partly) | Yes |
| Keeps the page's original font | Partly (Detects the document's fonts; where a font is unavailable "the closest match will be suggested". Free users cannot save the edit.) | Yes (Opens the clicked text in the PDF's embedded font, at its size, colour, letter and word spacing; exports it as real text in a subset of that font.) |
| Annotate and draw | Yes | Yes |
| Sign | Yes | Yes |
| Fill forms | Yes | No |
| OCR | Yes | No |
| Convert to and from other formats | Yes | No |
| Merge and split | Yes | No |
| Compress | Yes | No |
| Desktop apps | Yes | No |
| Mobile apps | Partly | No |
| API | Yes | No |

### Where Soda PDF is better

-   One of the broadest toolsets: OCR, two-way conversion, translation, e-signatures with timestamps, batch processing and AI tools.
-   A Windows desktop app and enterprise deployment options.
-   Uploads up to 100 MB on paid plans and a clear 24-hour deletion rule.

### Where Edit My PDF is better

-   Free editing you can actually save; Soda's free editor lets you edit but not download.
-   No 3 MB or two-files-a-day limit, and no upload.
-   The embedded font is kept rather than a "closest match".
-   Works the same on macOS and Linux, where Soda has no desktop app.

Online V15 (April 2026) brought a new editing engine and Google Fonts. A free-access policy from August 2025 defines what the free tier may do.

### 

Read on 2 November 2026 from Avanquest Software's own pages, with independent reviews used only to fill gaps. Prices are as the vendor showed them, in the currency and region seen. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the page says "Not stated".

1.  [Soda PDF editor (processing, fonts, free limits)](https://www.sodapdf.com/pdf-editor/)
2.  [Soda PDF plans](https://www.sodapdf.com/plans/)
3.  [Soda PDF blog: free access policy](https://www.sodapdf.com/blog/soda-pdf-free-access-policy/)
4.  [Soda PDF release notes](https://www.sodapdf.com/soda-release-notes)
5.  [Soda PDF privacy policy](https://www.sodapdf.com/privacy/)

Soda PDF is a product of Avanquest Software, Montréal. The name is used only to identify the product being compared.

## Other comparisons

[[ILOVEPDF S.L.]$44.99/year [approx.] [regional] 

### Edit My PDF vs iLovePDF

A broad toolbox of more than thirty web PDF tools, with desktop and mobile apps, an API and e-signatures.

Read the comparison](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/ilovepdf/)[[Smallpdf AG]$9/month [approx.] [regional] [third-party] 

### Edit My PDF vs Smallpdf

A Swiss suite of web PDF tools with a Windows app, mobile scanner, AI tools and the Sign.com e-signature platform.

Read the comparison](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/smallpdf/)[[Sejda BV]$5/week 

### Edit My PDF vs Sejda

A web PDF editor and toolset with an unusually generous free tier, and a desktop app that processes files locally.

Read the comparison](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/sejda/)

[Try Edit My PDF on a PDF](https://editmypdf.dev/app/) [All comparisons](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/)

---

Markdown version of https://editmypdf.dev/compare/soda-pdf/. Every page of Edit My PDF has one at the same address with .md appended; the index is https://editmypdf.dev/llms.txt.
