# Edit My PDF vs Smallpdf: where files go, what is free, fonts

> Smallpdf compared with Edit My PDF: where files are processed, free limits, pricing, and whether editing text keeps the original font. Facts checked 2 November 2026.

Canonical: https://editmypdf.dev/compare/smallpdf/

A Swiss suite of web PDF tools with a Windows app, mobile scanner, AI tools and the Sign.com e-signature platform.

Facts checked 2 November 2026

## In short

Smallpdf is a polished, well-run suite for converting, signing and compressing, and its OCR handles scans that Edit My PDF cannot. Its text editor is paid, server-side and works from a list of standard typefaces. If the job is retyping a line in the page's own font, Edit My PDF does it free and locally.

Smallpdf and Edit My PDF on three facts
|  | Smallpdf | Edit My PDF |
| --- | --- | --- |
| runs in your browser | No | Yes |
| edits existing text | Yes | Yes |
| keeps the page's font | No | Yes |

| At a glance | Smallpdf | Edit My PDF |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Where your file is processed | Uploaded to their servers (Files are uploaded to Smallpdf's servers in the EU.) | In your browser (Everything runs in your tab with pdf.js and pdf-lib. Nothing is uploaded.) |
| File retention | Files from the free tools are deleted after one hour; for visitors who are not signed in the privacy notice promises deletion "within a reasonable period". Files saved to an account stay until deleted. | Nothing is sent, so nothing is retained. Documents stay in your browser's IndexedDB until you remove them. |
| Account | For some tasks (Free tools work without an account; editing existing text needs a Pro subscription.) | Not required |
| Free tier | Limited access to basic features of 21 tools, two tasks a day, with ads. Editing existing text is Pro only. (File size cap: "Limited"; no number published. Limit: 2 tasks per day. Watermark: not stated.) | Everything is free. No task counter, no watermark, no file size cap beyond browser memory. |
| Paid plans | $9/month [approx.] [regional] [third-party] **Pro**: Regional pricing; shown from India as ₹979 a month or ₹8,799 a year. Third-party listings put the US price around $9 to $15 a month. (7-day trial with payment details. Unlocks Edit Text, OCR, strong compression, batch tools, the desktop app and unlimited downloads.) · **Team**: Per seat, billed yearly; the seat price did not render outside the vendor's regions · **Business**: Custom, 20+ seats ·  | None. Everything is free. |
| Edits the text already on the page | Yes (On the free tier: No) | Yes |
| Keeps the page's original font | No (Pro only. Smallpdf's own guide says the editor offers standard typefaces such as Arial and Times New Roman, and that embedded or restricted fonts can block edits.) | Yes (Opens the clicked text in the PDF's embedded font, at its size, colour, letter and word spacing; exports it as real text in a subset of that font.) |
| Annotate and draw | Yes | Yes |
| Sign | Yes | Yes |
| Fill forms | Yes | No |
| OCR | Yes | No |
| Convert to and from other formats | Yes | No |
| Merge and split | Yes | No |
| Compress | Yes | No |
| Desktop apps | Yes | No |
| Mobile apps | Yes | No |
| API | Not stated | No |

### Where Smallpdf is better

-   Conversion, OCR and compression across many formats, including batch processing on Pro.
-   A full e-signature platform (Sign.com) bundled with Pro, with eIDAS compliance.
-   AI document tools: summaries, chat, translation and question generation.
-   Cloud storage and sharing, a mobile scanner app and an offline Windows app.
-   EU hosting with ISO/IEC 27001 and team administration.

### Where Edit My PDF is better

-   No upload. Smallpdf processes your file on its servers and, for anonymous users, promises only a "reasonable" deletion window.
-   Editing existing text is free; Smallpdf puts it behind Pro.
-   No two-tasks-a-day limit, no daily download cap and no unpublished size limit.
-   The page's embedded font is kept, with its letter and word spacing, instead of a standard typeface.
-   Embedded or restricted fonts never block an edit.

In July 2026 Smallpdf sold its PDF Tools subsidiary to Apryse to focus on its own products. The privacy notice was revised in July 2025 to name its hosting and AI sub-processors.

### 

Read on 2 November 2026 from Smallpdf AG's own pages, with independent reviews used only to fill gaps. Prices are as the vendor showed them, in the currency and region seen. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the page says "Not stated".

1.  [Smallpdf pricing](https://smallpdf.com/pricing)
2.  [Smallpdf Edit PDF tool](https://smallpdf.com/edit-pdf)
3.  [Smallpdf support (free limits)](https://smallpdf.com/support)
4.  [Smallpdf privacy notice](https://smallpdf.com/privacy)
5.  [Smallpdf blog: fonts in the editor](https://smallpdf.com/blog/how-to-change-font-size-of-pdfs)
6.  [Smallpdf blog: is Smallpdf safe](https://smallpdf.com/blog/is-smallpdf-safe)

Smallpdf is a product of Smallpdf AG, Zürich. The name is used only to identify the product being compared.

## Other comparisons

[[ILOVEPDF S.L.]$44.99/year [approx.] [regional] 

### Edit My PDF vs iLovePDF

A broad toolbox of more than thirty web PDF tools, with desktop and mobile apps, an API and e-signatures.

Read the comparison](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/ilovepdf/)[[Sejda BV]$5/week 

### Edit My PDF vs Sejda

A web PDF editor and toolset with an unusually generous free tier, and a desktop app that processes files locally.

Read the comparison](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/sejda/)[[Adobe Inc.]$14.99/month [approx.] [regional] 

### Edit My PDF vs Adobe Acrobat online

Adobe's free web tools and the Acrobat Standard, Pro and Studio subscriptions, with the web editor saving to Adobe cloud storage.

Read the comparison](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/adobe-acrobat-online/)

[Try Edit My PDF on a PDF](https://editmypdf.dev/app/) [All comparisons](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/)

---

Markdown version of https://editmypdf.dev/compare/smallpdf/. Every page of Edit My PDF has one at the same address with .md appended; the index is https://editmypdf.dev/llms.txt.
