# Edit My PDF vs iLovePDF: where files go, what is free, fonts

> iLovePDF compared with Edit My PDF: where files are processed, free limits, pricing, and whether editing text keeps the original font. Facts checked 2 November 2026.

Canonical: https://editmypdf.dev/compare/ilovepdf/

A broad toolbox of more than thirty web PDF tools, with desktop and mobile apps, an API and e-signatures.

Facts checked 2 November 2026

## In short

iLovePDF is the right tool when the job is anything but editing text: converting, compressing, OCR, signing. For changing words on a page, it uploads your file and leaves the font question unanswered; Edit My PDF does that one job locally, in the page's own font.

iLovePDF and Edit My PDF on three facts
|  | iLovePDF | Edit My PDF |
| --- | --- | --- |
| runs in your browser | No | Yes |
| edits existing text | Yes | Yes |
| keeps the page's font | Not stated | Yes |

| At a glance | iLovePDF | Edit My PDF |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Where your file is processed | Uploaded to their servers (Web tools upload the file to iLovePDF's servers; the desktop app processes locally.) | In your browser (Everything runs in your tab with pdf.js and pdf-lib. Nothing is uploaded.) |
| File retention | Files are deleted within two hours of processing (signed documents are kept longer). Paid plans can choose the processing region. | Nothing is sent, so nothing is retained. Documents stay in your browser's IndexedDB until you remove them. |
| Account | For some tasks (The free tools show an optional sign-in; Premium features need an account.) | Not required |
| Free tier | Essential tools with "limited document processing" and ads. Edit PDF accepts one file of up to 100 MB. (File size cap: 100 MB for Edit PDF; 15 MB for Office conversion and OCR. Limit: Not published ("limited document processing"). Watermark: not stated.) | Everything is free. No task counter, no watermark, no file size cap beyond browser memory. |
| Paid plans | $44.99/year [approx.] [regional] **Premium**: Regional pricing with no currency switcher; the US App Store lists $5.49 a month or $44.99 a year (Unlocks all tools, unlimited processing, apps, 4 GB files on most tools (Edit PDF stays at 100 MB), choice of processing region.) · **Business**: Custom, 25+ users ·  | None. Everything is free. |
| Edits the text already on the page | Yes | Yes |
| Keeps the page's original font | Not stated (Edits existing text (rebuilt February 2026) and changes font, size and colour, but says nothing about whether the PDF's embedded font is kept.) | Yes (Opens the clicked text in the PDF's embedded font, at its size, colour, letter and word spacing; exports it as real text in a subset of that font.) |
| Annotate and draw | Yes | Yes |
| Sign | Yes | Yes |
| Fill forms | Yes | No |
| OCR | Yes | No |
| Convert to and from other formats | Yes | No |
| Merge and split | Yes | No |
| Compress | Yes | No |
| Desktop apps | Yes | No |
| Mobile apps | Yes | No |
| API | Yes | No |

### Where iLovePDF is better

-   Breadth: converting to and from Office formats, OCR, compression, repair, PDF/A, redaction, comparison, AI summaries and translation.
-   Legally meaningful e-signatures with audit trails, through qualified providers.
-   A REST API with free monthly credits and connectors for Zapier, Make and Power Automate.
-   Desktop and mobile apps; the desktop app processes files locally and takes files up to 4 GB.
-   Team workspaces, a choice of processing region on paid plans, and ISO/IEC 27001 certification.

### Where Edit My PDF is better

-   No upload at all. iLovePDF's web tools keep your file on their servers for up to two hours.
-   No account, no ads and no "limited document processing" on a free tier.
-   No 100 MB cap on editing, which iLovePDF applies on every tier including Business.
-   The edit is set in the page's embedded font with its spacing preserved; iLovePDF does not document how it handles fonts.
-   No one-file-per-task limit.

Direct editing of existing text arrived in May 2025 and was rebuilt in February 2026. Regional file processing for paid plans followed in March 2026.

### 

Read on 2 November 2026 from ILOVEPDF S.L.'s own pages, with independent reviews used only to fill gaps. Prices are as the vendor showed them, in the currency and region seen. Where a vendor publishes nothing, the page says "Not stated".

1.  [iLovePDF pricing](https://www.ilovepdf.com/pricing)
2.  [iLovePDF Edit PDF tool](https://www.ilovepdf.com/edit-pdf)
3.  [iLovePDF FAQ (file deletion)](https://www.ilovepdf.com/help/faq)
4.  [iLovePDF privacy policy](https://www.ilovepdf.com/help/privacy)
5.  [iLovePDF blog: new advanced editing (Feb 2026)](https://www.ilovepdf.com/blog/new-advanced-pdf-editing-ilovepdf)
6.  [iLovePDF on the US App Store (in-app prices)](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/ilovepdf-pdf-editor-reader/id1207332399)

iLovePDF is a product of ILOVEPDF S.L., Barcelona. The name is used only to identify the product being compared.

## Other comparisons

[[Smallpdf AG]$9/month [approx.] [regional] [third-party] 

### Edit My PDF vs Smallpdf

A Swiss suite of web PDF tools with a Windows app, mobile scanner, AI tools and the Sign.com e-signature platform.

Read the comparison](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/smallpdf/)[[Sejda BV]$5/week 

### Edit My PDF vs Sejda

A web PDF editor and toolset with an unusually generous free tier, and a desktop app that processes files locally.

Read the comparison](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/sejda/)[[Adobe Inc.]$14.99/month [approx.] [regional] 

### Edit My PDF vs Adobe Acrobat online

Adobe's free web tools and the Acrobat Standard, Pro and Studio subscriptions, with the web editor saving to Adobe cloud storage.

Read the comparison](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/adobe-acrobat-online/)

[Try Edit My PDF on a PDF](https://editmypdf.dev/app/) [All comparisons](https://editmypdf.dev/compare/)

---

Markdown version of https://editmypdf.dev/compare/ilovepdf/. Every page of Edit My PDF has one at the same address with .md appended; the index is https://editmypdf.dev/llms.txt.
